Wednesday, March 26, 2014

Dave Dean named NHSCA National Wrestling Coach of the Year

by Jeff Fisher

Dave Dean of Lowell High School in Michigan is the 2014 NHSCA National High School Wrestling Coach of the Year.

In nine years as the head coach at Lowell, Dean has built the Red Arrows program into one of the best in Michigan while also gaining attention on the national level.  This past season, Dean led his program to its second overall Michigan’s Division 2 team championship, plus a Top 20 ranking by multiple national media outlets.  Three of his wrestlers – Lucas Hall (112 pounds), Max Dean (171 pounds) and Josh Colegrove (215 pounds) – won individual state championships this past season.

With three state champs this past season, Dean has now coached 12 individual state champs along with 46 state place winners while amassing an overall record of 237-39.  Under Dean, Lowell has won nine Michigan district titles, six regional championships and seven conference titles.  This past year, Dean was named Michigan Division 2 Coach of the Year.

Maybe more impressive than his on-the-mat record, is the fact that since 2007, every Lowell wrestling team has been named Academic All-State.

“Coach Dean and his family have set a level of excellence in Michigan and the nation that makes Lowell High School one of the top programs each year,” said Bob Ferraro, Junior, Executive Director of the National High School CoachesAssociation. “We are proud to honor Coach Dean not only for his work on the mat, but also his drive to turn-out top quality student-athletes.”

“My very first thought is to thank all of the coaches, athletes, parents and administrators that have shared in all of the work and sacrifice over the years,” said Coach Dean. “Without the backing of all of those people, a recognition like this would be possible.  On behalf of them, I am truly honored to receive this prestigious recognition from the NHSCA.”

This past season was Dean’s last at Lowell.  He has accepted the job as the head of the Olympic Development Program at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York. 

Dean’s son Gabe just finished his freshman year wrestling for the Big Red.  Gabe Dean finished third at 184-pounds at the recently completed NCAA National Championships.  Earlier this year, Dean beat Penn State’s Ed Ruth two stop the two-time champs 84-match win streak.  Ruth gained revenge at the NCAA’s, beating Dean in the semifinals before going on to win his third NCAA title.

Dave Dean was a two-time All-American while wrestling at the University of Minnesota, that included a runner-up finish at the NCAA’s.  He was also a two-time Big 10 champ.

Next year, Coach Dean will have seven former student-athletes wrestling at the Division 1 level.

Past NHSCA High School National High School Wrestling Coaches of the Year

2013 – Steve Tirapelle – Clovis (California)
2012 – Pat Simpson – Father Ryan (Tennessee)
2011 – Cliff Ramos – Collins Hill (Georgia)
2010 – Barry Chooljian – Timberlane (New Hampshire)
2009 – Jeff Sweigard – Central Dauphin (Pennsylvania)
2008 – Bill Jacoutot – Spencerport (New York)
2007 – Jerry Winterton – Cary (North Carolina)
2006 – Mike Polz – Carl Sandburg (Illinois)
2005 – Roy Hall – Davison (Michigan)
2004 – Terry Dubert – Northampton (Pennsylvania)
2003 – Jeff Jordan – St. Paris Graham (Ohio)
2002 – David East – Bakersfield (California); Jim Jackson – Apple Valley (Minnesota)
2001 – Dave Crowell – Wilson Borough (Pennsylvania); Jeff Jordan – Clarksville (Tennessee)
2000 – Russ Cozart – Brandon (Florida); Scott Legacy – Mount Anthony Union (Vermont); Herb Stinson – Aztec (New Mexico)
1999 – Lewie Benitz – Lincoln (Wisconsin); Keith Healy – Providence Catholic (Illinois); Tim Marzuola – Highlands Park (Texas); Dick Rhoades – Bald Eagle Area (Pennsylvania)
1998 – Jim Poston – Montgomery Bell Academy (Tennessee)

No comments:

Post a Comment